The Oregon Chapter of the American Public Works Association

Oregon APWA Chapter Awards

Recognize people, projects and programs with Oregon Chapter APWA award nominations! Nominations due Thursday, Sept. 4.

Download application forms:



Presidential Award for Chapter Excellence (PACE) The Oregon Chapter consistently has earned the APWA National PACE award, which was established to recognize chapters for contributions made to positively impact their membership, profession, and community.

Top 10 Leaders Award This award seeks to inspire excellence and dedication in public service by recognizing the outstanding career service achievements of individual public works professionals and officials from both the public and private sectors.

Stephanie Reid nominated for Top 10 Leader Award in 2014

Gregg Weston nominated for Top 10 Leader Award in 2013

Peggy Keppler received Top 10 Leader Award in 2012

Manager of the Year Award The focus of this award is the recognition of exceptional leadership and management in the areas of: Administrative Management, Engineering & Technology, Facilities & Grounds, Public Fleet, Public Right of Way, Emergency Management, Solid Waste, Transportation (won by Nancy Kraushaar in 2012), and Water Resources.


Awards Night Slide Show
(Click to view; 19 MB file)


The William A. Bowes Award is the highest chapter award given by the Oregon Chapter of APWA. It bears the names of distinguished Oregon public works professionals, one for each year since the inception of the award in 1978. It was established to recognize a public works leader for their far-reaching, positive impact on public works programs, services or policies.  Criteria include promoting chapter growth, signing up new members, participating in committee activities, and gaining public recognition of the chapter. Selection is made by the previous award winner. See 2012 Bowes Award



The Julian Sustainability Practices Award recognizes individuals, programs, agencies and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to promote sustainability in public works. Sustainability is accomplished by the efficient and cost effective delivery of infrastructure in an environmentally and socially responsible way that ensures the best choice in the long term.  Up to two Julian Sustainability Practices Awards are presented annually in the following categories: individual or program/agency/organization.   This award is sponsored by the Sustainability Committee.  For additional information contact Matt Rodrigues, (541) 682-6036,  See list of past Julian Sustainabilty Practices Award Winners.


Sustainability Practices Award Nomination Form and Application Criteria (Fillable PDF)


This award recognizes and encourages young APWA members who have demonstrated an initial commitment to the profession and the Association, and show potential for future growth within the Association. The award promotes the concept that length of career does not necessarily indicate leadership abilities or potential for service.  This award is sponsored by the Leadership and Management Committee.  For additional information contact John M. Lewis, (503) 496-1545,

Young Leader Award Nomination Form (pdf)



This award is regarded as the highest honor that APWA can bestow.
Established in 1935 as the Honorary Membership Award, this honor is intended to indicate to the greatest possible extent APWA’s esteem, respect and regard.  This can be a person that has been working behind the scenes helping the Oregon Chapter, or it can be a public figure.  This award may be presented in recognition of acknowledged service and well-established preeminence in the field of public works, such as, but not limited to encouraging sustainable practices in the field of public works; smart growth policies i.e.: outstanding mass transit options, encouraging plans that limit sprawl, and/or contributions of special merit and benefit to APWA. If you know of someone who has done a lot for Oregon APWA and deserves recongnition, contact an APWA Board Member for more information on nominations.



To recognize public works employees who are identified by their peers or customers for - providing good customer service (responsive, consistent, courteous), making the best use of public resources (efficient, innovative), helping co-workers succeed (assistance, cooperation, solution oriented), and being a great person to work with (friendly, respectful).   For additional information contact Delora Kerber at  See 2012 Everyday Heros.


Everyday Heros Award Nomination Form (pdf)



This award recognizes excellence, innovation and cooperation with regard to management and administration of public works projects through the alliance of the managing agency, consultant and contractor. 

Awards are given in four divisions:

1. Projects less than $5 million
2. Projects of $5 million, but less than $25 million
3. Projects of $25 million to $75 million
4. Projects more than $75 million

and five categories:

1. Structures—to include public structure preservation/rehabilitation, municipal buildings, parks, etc.
2. Transportation—to include roads, bridges, mass transit, etc.
3. Environment—to include treatment and recycling facilities, landfill reclamation projects, sewer projects, etc.
4. Historical Restoration/Preservation—to include historical restoration, preservation and adaptive reuse of existing buildings, structures, and facilities, etc.
5. Disaster or Emergency Construction/Repair—to include the techniques and timing for safety, community relations, environmental protection, adverse conditions and additional considerations. This award is sponsored by the Awards Committee.  For additional information contact John M. Lewis, (503) 496-1545, See 2012 Project of the Year Awards and 2012 Awards Presentation.

Public Works Project of the Year Application (pdf)


While not an achievement award in the traditional sense, the Gizmo (a.k.a. Golden Knuckle) Award nonetheless is an important function of the chapter. First presented in 1987, the award has raised thousands of dollars for scholarships given by the chapter's Scholastic Foundation.  What is the Gizmo?  Suffice it to say, it's an award most people are willing to pay to not receive. Click here for a more detailed history of the Gizmo Award and a list of winners over the years.




Copyright ©1999 Oregon Chapter of the American Public Works Association
Website Comments to